How to File For Divorce in Ohio Without an Attorney 

Recent data suggests that nearly 80 percent of people find it difficult to afford an attorney. With that in mind, thousands of people ask how to file for divorce in Ohio without an attorney every year.

Many want answers to questions like, “How much to file for divorce in Ohio.” However, you should also consider how much it will cost you if you don’t use an attorney during your divorce. 

We don’t recommend a DIY divorce in Ohio for anyone. However, we also understand that information is power, and we want to help as much as we can. 

Should you decide to file for divorce in Ohio without an attorney, we’ve provided key information you need to help you get started below. 

If you have specific questions regarding your divorce in Ohio, contact us today to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation. 

How to Start the Divorce Process in Ohio

Before researching how to start the divorce process in Ohio, you should be sure that you want a divorce instead of dissolution. Both options legally end a marriage, but the steps, costs, and requirements differ for each. 

If you’re not sure what divorce options fit your circumstances, it can help to consult with a proven divorce attorney in Columbus, Ohio. 

In the meanwhile, we’ve listed the basic steps you’ll need to take to get a divorce in Ohio below. 

1. Make Sure You Meet the Requirements For Divorce in Ohio

You must meet the following qualifications to get divorced in Ohio. 

⦁ One or both spouses must have lived in Ohio a minimum of 6-months before filing for divorce. 

⦁ At least one spouse must reside in the county you wish to divorce for a ⦁ minimum of 90 days to file for divorce in Ohio. 

If you choose dissolution, it must be mutual. That means that you and your spouse must agree on all aspects of the divorce, including child support, custody, division of property, and more. 

If you and your spouse can’t reach an agreement, then an at-fault divorce may be your only option. In that case, you must identify at least one of the following options as your “grounds for divorce in Ohio.”

⦁ You and your spouse have physically lived apart for a minimum of one year, or

⦁ You and your spouse are incompatible 

Though it’s not as common anymore, you can also use many other options as your grounds for divorce in Ohio. They include but are not limited to adultery, cruelty, abuse, habitual drunkenness, false imprisonment, etc. 

2. Gather & Complete the Necessary Documentation

You need a lot of documentation when filing for divorce in Ohio. However, each county has its own list of required forms. Some of the most common include:

⦁ Divorce complaint 

⦁ Request for service

⦁ Affidavits of income, expenses, and owned property

That’s just the beginning. Furthermore, if you have children, you can expect more forms and steps. 

3. File and Serve the Divorce Papers to Your Spouse

After you’ve completed all of the necessary forms, you must file them with the clerk’s office in your county. You can potentially e-file some divorce papers online. However, it’s in your best interest to have an experienced family law lawyer review them before filing. 

Additionally, the filing spouse must serve the divorce papers to their spouse. The clerk’s office typically handles this step (with cost). However, if they cannot locate your spouse, there are other options available. 

4. Request Temporary Orders 

Finalizing a divorce can take months or potentially longer. If you need to request “temporary orders” in Ohio, you should do it when you file for divorce. 

Temporary orders allow judges to make immediate rulings on time-sensitive issues that remain in effect until a divorce decree is issued. Common examples of temporary orders include, but are not limited to:

⦁ Spousal Support 

⦁ Child Support 

⦁ Child Custody 

⦁ Temporary division of property and responsibilities

Not Sure If you Need a Divorce Attorney? Contact Us Today For a Free Consultation 

You have the option to file for divorce in Ohio without an attorney. However, you should consider the implications of doing so. Filing a DIY divorce in Ohio can lead to mistakes, receiving less than you’re entitled to, and child custody complications. 

While there are no circumstances in which we recommend you file for divorce without an attorney, it may be a viable option in rare cases. 

Regardless of your situation, it’s in your best interest to at least take advantage of a free consultation with an Ohio divorce lawyer before proceeding. 

Contact us today for your free, no-obligation consultation to learn how we can help. 

If you’re thinking about divorcing without a lawyer, read this first. Click here to learn more about how to file for divorce in Ohio without an Attorney